Tangerine Queen (or King)

This post is going to be a little different from last time. Instead of just going and finding stuff to make a song about, I already had an idea for this song. Chords-wise I also already had a couple of ideas. There’s a song I recently learned called Celebrate by Anderson .Paak. The chords have a great Soul/Gospel feel to them. There’s another set of chords that I made up that have a more of a punk rock feel to them. For this song I am going to use the personally-curated set of chords, but who knows. You will probably be hearing some form of the other set of chords very soon. But just because I came up with a set of chords before doesn’t mean I can’t have a little adventure to inspire the song. So, let me tell you about what I did.

These are tangerines, and a lot of them. These tangerines grow of trees like these:

Me and a couple of friends went to a tangerine farm to volunteer picking tangerines to donate to a local Food Bank. I first thought that this would be really hard, or boring, or both. But it wasn’t, and it proved to be a great way to lay back, socialize, and get some community service hours. There was a large field of these trees, and you were armed with a pair of mini-pruners. You would journey to tree from tree, swiping down tons of tangerines (unintentional rhyme, nice). At the end we filled around 2 4×4 giant boxes full of plump tangerines.

On the way home I was thinking, and came up with the idea to this song…

The Song

For the beat I used an old instrumental I was going to put on the album I’m working on, but hey whatevs. I was going to play the guitar but my wrist is hurting a lot right now for whatever reason. This song only took around 4 tries to make perfect, as opposed to the literal 30 tries it took to make “Statewide Pride” good. Overall I think it’s a pretty decent song, and I put a cool little filter over my voice to disguise the fact that I am horribly insecure about my singing voice. Enjoy!

What did you think of the song? Have any ideas? Leave them in the comments below!

One thought on “Tangerine Queen (or King)

Leave a Reply

